Picture
Curry night! Tasty beef curry and cucumber salad.
And so my Asian odyssey continues with a delicious beef curry. I had a real hankering for a warming curry with lots of lovely rice. I love casserole, slow cook dishes. I can knock it together whilst my youngest is having his nap and then when we get back in after the school run the house smells great and I have only the sides to do. I served it here with a simple grated cucumber salad dressed in white wine vineger and also  added plenty of super free veg to the curry to make sure I got my 1/3 super free. I used a packet of spice that I got from a local indian and continental shop (I love this shop I can literally spend hours perusing the isles looking at all the exotic ingredients, mmmm!). There are loads of different flavours and they are very authentic. I used the generally titled 'meat masala', see below. I warn you though the recipe suggested 2 tbls but I added just 1 as I was doing it for all off us but it was still too hot for the boys, oops! oh well all the  more for me...
 
Picture
Spicy Meat Masala mix. You don't need too much!
Serves 2/3
Free Red/Green/EE

2 Red Onions sliced
5 cloves of Garlic crushed
2" piece of Ginger grated
300g Stewing Steak
1 tbsl Shan's meat masala mix (less for a milder curry)
1 Red Pepper chunkily cut
6 Tomatoes quartered
Fat Free Yogurt
Large handful of Corriander

  1. Fry onions gently in Frylight for at least 5 minutes then add the garlic and ginger.
  2. Add the meat and brown then add curry powder mix, fry off taking care not to burn the spices. If it looks to be getting a little too dry or hot you can add a bit of water.
  3. Add the pepper and tomatoes and stir.
  4. Add 2 cups of water stir and transfer to casserole dish.
  5. Cook in oven gas mark 3 for 4 hours, check after 3, if it seems a bit thin, leave the lid off and cook until the sauce has thickened and the meat is meltingly tender.
  6. When ready stir through the yogurt and corriander to serve.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.