I'm so excited about this rice recipe I just had to share. I did it the other week to have with kebabs and I loved it so much I could have just eaten a plateful of the rice!

I was thinking of the gorgeous rice you get at our local Turkish restaurant so I looked up the recipe. Obviously it used butter and oil but I replaced them with fry light and butter fry light, life savers!

Turkish rice is often a little like pilaf and has different ingredients like pasta or chickpeas. For this recipe I used broken up vermicelli.

Spray the pan with both fry lights and toast the broken vermicelli till they gently brown, then add the rice and fry that for a minute or so. Then add chicken stock made from a stock pot, my rule of thumb is add enough water to cover the rice by about a thumbnail. Bring it to the boil and let it simmer gentle for a couple of minutes then turn it off and keep the lid on the pan leave if for 10-15 minutes to absorb all the liquid. Once it's been absorbed take the lid off and gently fork through the rice. And that's it!! Its really that simple and so delicious.

I served it with roast chicken thighs (skin removed and sprayed with BBQ fry light) and a take on tabuleh. I'll post the recipe for that tomorrow. Yum just like being on holiday!

NB. You can add even more goodness to it by adding a 1/2 tin of chickpeas before the stock. Authentic and delicious.




Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.