Another miserable day, another tasty soup! This is one of my favourite store cupboard staples, its really healthy and delicious. The packs of cooked beetroot keep for ages in the fridge and are really cheap. I used to hate beetroot (a result of eating too much raw beetroot on that crazy 'heart foundation diet' remember that one?) until I tried Borsct at a fabulous vegetarian restaurant and I was hooked so this is my slimming world friendly version. I love dill too as I adds a really buttery taste to dishes without the butter!

Serves 2 
Free on EE/Red/Green

1 Onion roughly chopped
1 Carrot sliced
1 stick Celery sliced
4 cloves Garlic roughly chopped
1 tbsp Caraway seeds (use less if you want but I love them)
1 tbsp dried Dill
1 packet cooked beetroot diced
Chicken Stock (I love the knorr stock pots they're brilliant!)
2 Bayleaves
Juice of 1 Lemon
FF Fromage Frais

  1. Gently soften the onions in Frylight then add the onion and carrot. I add a splash of water and put the lid on then just give it a stir every now and then.
  2. Add the garlic and caraway seeds and stir then add the beetroot.
  3. Cover with stock, add the bayleaves and bring to the boil then reduce to a simmer and cook until the veg is all tender.
  4. Take of the heat and blend to your desired consistency stir through the lemon juice.
  5. Serve with a good dollop of Fromage Frais and a little more dill on top.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.