Hello well it's been a while since I last posted, I've been busy having birthdays and keeping my little people entertained. I thought I'd do a little post about some of the things I'm loving at the moment. It's not just recipes that can help you on your journey. So here a few of my recent favourite things.

First off I am love, love, loving these fabulous little pasta noodles that I found in the Asda world foods section (I adore world food shopping you could loose me for hours in a good shop.). I have always loved chicken noodle soup, tinned or in packets, but struggled to find the right noodle for the job. Spaghetti wasn't right nor the Chinese egg noodles but these little beauties are just the job! So quick and easy to throw into anything to bulk it up, especially on hungry days. I made a chicken noodle soup that was actually better than the packet the other day and both my toddler and I slurped up every last bit. (Recipe coming soon!)

Next up this delightful herbal tea is making my post child bedtime relax even more blissful. I adore chai and its warm spicy goodness however the real drink is usually made with condensed milk (yum) and a lot of the instant versions also contain milk and sugars so therefore syns. These beauties have all the delicious flavours and aromas but are totally free. And whilst many herbal/fruit teas smell delicious but fail to deliver on taste these pack a tasty punch too. I'm a 'leave the bag in' sort of girl and like to add a splash if milk to make it a little more authentic.

Still on the drinks theme, this was featured in a slimming world magazine a couple of months ago and caught my eye. I'm always keen to cut out as much artificial sweetener as possible but many alternatives are quite high in syns. This bottle of gooey chocolatey delight is only 1/2 a teaspoon! And whilst they recommend 4 tsp for a cup that's still only 2 syns the same as an options. You do have to make the hot chocolate with milk obviously from your allowance or synned but I have been using the unsweetened almond milk lately which you get loads of and gives an interesting nutty flavour or I did half hot water and then topped up with milk.

It's also very versatile you can squidge a bit on your fruit salad, splurge it in your porridge, dollop it on pancakes (and even eat it on its own off the spoon, not that I do honest!). Just make sure you measure your splats and splurges so you have the right syns.

The kids love it too and it's so nice to know its not full of nasties. You can buy it in most of the major supermarkets by the other hot chocolate drinks. It's quite expensive but does seem to last quite well. Definite new favourite in this house with everyone!

And last but not least although my little milk jug up there at the top. I've done this with a few things now and I think presentation can be key sometimes. I bought myself this lovely little milk jug (50p from a car boot) so I can measure out my daily milk allownace and know that I'm not going over. My semi skimmed allowance just fits in here and I make sure I use it all day. I have found its easier to pour the milk in smaller amounts and seems to make it go further than when pouring from big bottles. It also looks lovely and makes me feel all ladylike (something I don't feel terribly often).

I did this with my wine glass and diner plate too, I bought a small pretty onea so I felt I was having a full portion rather than half a plate or a dribble at the bottom. It's all in the mind! Hxx


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.