Picture
Zingy Janapense inspired Broccoli and wasabi Soup with Smoked salmon Nori Roll.
I just don't seem to be able to get away from Asian flavours at the moment, or soup for that matter, it must be an escape from this dreadful weather. Close my eyes and I'm in a distant exotic land all sunkist and happy.

I came up with this soup the last time I did slimming world and I still love it. Broccoli is so good for us and Im not that keen on it as a boiled soggy side but I love broccoli and stilton soup. I was trying to think of something else other than cheese that I could add so I thought where else to you get broccoli and thought of all the broccoli in Asian stir frys and Japanese cooking. This recipe uses soy sauce, wasabi, and zesty lime to bring the broccoli to life.

I served it today with a homemade nori roll inspired by the SW Asian cook book. An Asian take on the classic soup and a sandwich! I'll post the recipe for the roll soon. 

Serves 2 
1/2 syn per serving

Ingredients 

1 onion roughly chopped
4 cloves of garlic chopped
1" piece of ginger finely chopped
1 good head of broccoli inc stalk roughly chopped
handful of peppercorns
2 bay leaves
Vegetable stock
1 teaspoon wasabi (more to taste but it is 1 syn per teaspoon)
Juice of 1 lime

  1. Soften the onions in frylight and then add the garlic and then ginger.
  2. Add broccoli and fry for a moment.
  3. Add the stock to just cover the vegetables, add the peppercorns and bayleaves.
  4. Bring to the boil and then simmer until the vegetables are tender.
  5. Remove the bayleaves and blend to your preferred texture
  6. Add the wasabi and return to a simmer for a couple of minutes.
  7. Take off the heat, stir through the lime juice and serve.



Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.