I've spoken about my German roots before but I didn't actually have sauerkraut until I was in my twenties, introduced to it by a German friend of mine. My family never really went in for the pickled cabbage but I absolutely love it. My friend used to bring me back packs every time she went home but now with all the European supermarkets and world food isles proper sauerkraut is available everywhere. The polish version largely available can be slightly sharper than the German version so I add a sprinkling of sweetener if its too much. Sauerkraut is really good for you and I always remember Gillian Mckeith doaling it out to anyone who liked a drink so I guess it's good for your liver.

This is how I first had sauerkraut and its still the best. Traditionally it would be served with some gorgeous wurst or hot dog but I use the frozen low fat quorn sausages, making the whole meal totally free! I like to cook the sausages in the sauerkraut so they are more like frankfurters.

Ingredients

One packet/jar sauerkraut

1 Vegetable stock cube

Tbsp Dill

tsp Peppercorns

1-2 Bay leaves torn.

Quorn sausages

Bovril

Mash

tsp Squeezy mustard (1/2 syn optional)

  1. Put the sauerkraut in a pan and cover with hot water.
  2. Add the stock cube, dill, pepper corns and Bay leaves. Stir well.
  3. Bring to the boil over a medium heat and then reduce to a simmer. Taste and add a bit of sweetener if you think it needs it.
  4. Add the quorn sausages to the sauerkraut and make sure they are well submerged. Return to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes or until the sausages are cooked through.
  5. Serve with SW friendly mash, I like to use a bit of yogurt in mine if I've used my milk up, bovril gravy and I love a splodge of bright yellow hot dog mustard on the side.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.