This is one of my absolute favourite dishes of all time. I have a great love of Thai food and love the flavour combinations. I learnt this recipe when on a cookery course in Thailand about 10 years ago and I practically lived on this when I first lived on my own. Its fresh, healthy, nutricious, tastes amazing and best of all its totally free!! The recipe is really easy and pretty flexible, you can pretty much throw in what ever you want, prawns are great, but this is my standard dish.

Serves 2

Ingredients 
Water
2 stalks of Lemon Grass sliced into 1 inch size pieces
5 slices of Ginger
1 Onion cut into large pieces
1 Diced Chicken breast
Fresh Chillies to taste
Fish Sauce
4 Tomatoes 
6 Mushrooms 
Spinach
Lime
Corriander
Your favourite noodles I use udon or flat thai sticks cooked

  • Fill a large pan with water and bring to the boil. Add the ginger and lemon grass and boil for 5 minutes.
  • Add the chicken and bring back to the boil. Cook for 5 minutes and skim off any foam that comes to the top.
  • Add the onion, tomatoes, mushrooms, chillies, and a good dash of fish sauce and simmer for a couple of minutes.
  • Add the spinach and cook until wilted.
  • Take off the heat, stir through the juice of the lime and the corriander.
  • Divide the noodles between bowls, pour soup on over and top with more corriander.

ENJOY!!


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.